Crowe & Simpson crowned this season’s XC Grand Prix champs

Jamie Crowe and Annabel Simpson have been crowned the winners of the Scottish XC Grand Prix for 2019/20. With Crowe (Central AC), already the Lindsays National XC Senior men’s champion and Simpson (Fife AC) the women’s silver medallist, the titles round off a successful year for the pair.

To encourage runners to take part in multiple events, Grand Prix points are awarded for performance at six different events – four in Scotland and two in England – over the 2019/20 season.

With the first event the Lindsays Short Course at Kirkcaldy last November and the last the Inter-Counties XC at Loughborough in March, the Grand Prix was not affected by coronavirus-related cancellations. As it happened, Crowe and Simpson were both ahead of their respective divisions before the final event.

This year’s top 10s were evidence of the wide appeal of XC, with runners from nine different clubs taking places in the men’s divisions and eight in the women’s.

Simpson won the women’s division of the Grand Prix with 229 points, with Kayleigh Jarrett (Shettleston) taking second. Michelle Sandison (Springburn), Nynke Mulholland (Inverclyde AC), Mhairi Maclennan (Inverness Harriers), Avril Mason (Shettleston), Catriona MacDonald (Bellahouston Road Runners), Jenny Selman (Fife AC), Holly Little (VP-Glasgow) and Fiona Brian (Metro Aberdeen) rounded out the women’s top 10.

Crowe won the men’s division with 222 points, with Jonny Glen of Inverclyde AC taking second. Lachlan Oates (Shettleston Harriers), Jack Leitch (Edinburgh Uni Hare and Hounds), Ben Greenwood (Perth Strathtay), Andy Butchart (Central AC), Tom Martyn (Corstorpine AAC), Ryan Thomson (Cambuslang Harriers) and Sol Sweeney (Glasgow Uni Hare and Hounds) finished off the men’s top 10.

Together, the 20 athletes will share a prize pot of £4000, with Crowe and Simpson each receiving £750 from scottishathletics for their wins.

Image: Crowe and Simpson (Bobby Gavin/scottishathletics)

Previous & Next News