Mid Sussex Marathon 2023

Three Races; Three Towns; One Marathon

Short work for Ben in Sussex multi-stage marathon

Mid Sussex Marathon Weekend is a full marathon in bits, promoted by Places Leisure with race management services provided by Nice Work. This year's events took place on the Early May Bank Holiday weekend 29 April to 1 May 2023, with a race a day for three days. It all kicked off with the East Grinstead 10 mile, followed by Haywards Heath 10 mile, and finally the Burgess Hill 10K.

This was the 12th running of Mid Sussex Marathon Weekend and more than 1,000 finishers were recorded in the main events and supporting mile races that precede each stage of the marathon. Entrants were helping to raise funds for local Sussex charity Kangaroos, which runs fun and social activities for people with severe learning disabilities and offers unrivalled support for its members and their families.

Of course, each race can be entered individually with all the usual rewards but there is a specially commissioned Mid Sussex Marathon medal for anyone that completes all three and clocks up the requisite 26.2 miles.

First up was the East Grinstead 10 mile on Saturday (29 April). Ben Short (Crawley AC, 1:06:45), Ollie Sprague (Seaford Striders, 1:08:03) and Harvey Alcock (Haywards Heath Harriers, 1:09;16) were setting the early pace. The top three women were W35 Hayley Chapman (1:17:51), W50 Debbie Jackson (Collingwood AC, 1:25:01) and W50 Cathy Willatt (unattached, 1:26:19).

Stage two was the Haywards Heath 10 on Sunday (30 April). Ben Short made short work of the opposition in 54:33 ahead of M40 Craig Halsey (Brighton & Hove AC, 55:13) and Ollie Sprague (57:55). There was a completely different female podium of Yolanda King (Hastings Runners, 1:07:19), Eileen Beach (Lewes AC, 1:25:01) and Sarah Morris (Heathfield Roadrunners, 1:10:37).

The stage was set for the Burgess Hill 10K sprint to the finish of the Mid Sussex Marathon on Bank Holiday Monday (1 May). Simon Heath (Brighton Phoenix, 35:29) took the victory here from Kenta Matsumoto (unattached, 37:06) and Mid Sussex Marathon overall champion, Ben Short (39:19). W40 Mari Laidlaw (Brighton Tri Club, 46:24) led the ladies' race from the overall marathon champion Debbie Jackson (47:31) and W35 Lucy Greenough (Reading AC, 48:44).

Visit the Mid Sussex Marathon website for all the details.

Image courtesy Mid Sussex Marathon on Facebook 

Previous & Next News