Telford 10K races back into action

Speedy times again for the Telford 10K

Outstanding performances at this top ranked event.

Flying feet and a win for Alfie Manthorpe by the tightest of margins at Sunday’s (12 December) Telford 10K. He fought hard in a fiercely contested race that was also a good day at the office for the Midland men’s and women’s teams.  

Conditions were perfect for racing at the 37th Telford 10K, known for its fast course that attracts elite athletes targeting a fast time. Sunday’s race incorporated the 2021 England 10K Road Championships, the England Athletics Age Group Masters Qualifier and the Inter-Area Road Race Series. It is equally popular with club runners on the hunt for a PB. 

Always a well organised event from Telford AC, it made a welcome return and was enjoyed by the Elite Men and Ladies and Masses alike who put themselves to the test on the flat, two lap, traffic-free course. They started in waves with Wave 1 at 10.30am, Wave 2 at 11.10am and Wave 3 at 11.50am and streamed away through Telford Town Park and along the Silkin Way on this out and back route. Spectators and marshals cheered them on. 

There was a battle for the finish between Alfie Manthorpe from City of Sheffield and Dearne AC and Lucian Allison of Lincoln Wellington AC. Manthorpe snatched victory in 29:06 followed by Allison in 29:06. Matthew Clowes of Cardiff AAC was close behind in 29:08. Alfie Manthorpe is the 2021 England 10K Road Champion.  

Samantha Harrison of Notts AC looked in control as she sped across the line to become the women’s winner in 32:07. It was a strong run by Kate Holt of City of Stoke AC to finish second in 32:29 with Hannah Irwin of Cambridge & Coleridge AC third in 32:49.       

A full set of results can be found via the runABC Midlands Race Listings page.

Midland Counties AA had plenty to celebrate with their men’s and women’s teams coming first in the 2021 Inter-Area Road Race Series. The development teams were third overall.  

Quality racing at the Telford 10K and here’s to the 2022 season.  

Image courtesy of Luke Northall.

Previous & Next News