runABC is in the process of upgrading and improving its online service so you might encounter the odd glitch over the next week or so but rest assured we’re working on them and the new site will be a fantastic resource for our running community.



Fast times by the Firth of Forth at Scottish 5K Championships

The Run and Become Sri Chinmoy 5K race again lived up to expectations with a great turn-out of Scottish club runners expecting fast times on the flat course at Silverknowes.

The traditional strength in depth was again evident at Friday’s event, which also served as the 2019 edition of Scottish 5K Road Championships. The100th placed runner clocked a time of 16.19; over 200 runners finished the event inside 18 minutes, and 327 broke the 20 minute barrier.

The quality at the top end of the field this year was clear, too. GB International Kris Jones led a large group of runners at the 3km point. The Dundee Hawkhill Harrier, winner in 2017, proved the stronger in the last 2km and reclaimed the title in a swift 14.26, just nine seconds outside the course record time Callum Hawkins posted in 2016.

His young Dundee clubmate Jamie Donald followed in 14.31 and with that claimed the Scottish under-20s title. Last year’s champion, Lachlan Oates (Shettleston) was third in 14.39.

The women's race was also keenly contested. GB Cross Country international, Mhairi Maclennan (Inverness Harriers) was two seconds ahead of Central's Morag Millar at 3km. Over the last 2km Millar edged ahead to finish in a new course record time, and personal road PB of 15.49, 20 seconds inside the 16.09 set by Maddy Murray in 2016. Maclennan, six seconds behind in 15.55 was also inside the old course record. Shettleston's Irish international Fionnuala Ross was third in 16.18.

Zoe Pflug form Edinburgh University took the under-20s title.

Although not eligible for Championship medals there were outstanding runs from 15-year-old Anna Hedley of Fife AC to finish fifth lady overall in 16.54 and 16-year-old Hamish Armitt (Giffnock North) who recorded an excellent 14.41 to finish fourth overall.

In the older age groups Stuart Johnson (Edinburgh AC) just edged out Kerry Liam Wilson of Cambuslang, 15.43 to 15.44 in the men’s V40. Scott MacDonald, Moorfoots, took the V50 in 16.19, and Alistair Walker, Teviotdale, the V60 in 17.20. Dave Cooney (Cambuslang) was first V70 in 24.38

In the women’s race, Lesley Chisholm (Garscube) was first V40 in 17.52, Fiona Mathieson (Falkirk) first V50 in 18.08, Innes Bracegirdle (Fife) V60 in 22.14 and Pat Allen (Motherwell) V70 in 27.40.

In the traditionally hotly contested team competition, Edinburgh University Hares and Hounds were clear winners ahead of Corstorphine in the men’s race with Cambuslang snatching the bronze medals by a point from Central AC.

Inverness claimed the women’s team prize ahead of Central, with Edinburgh University Hares & Hounds third.

Image: Bobby Gavin

Previous & Next News