Eastbourne 5 winners 2023

A Race For A Tenner...?

We Run They Run I Run's quirky Eastbourne 5 is a Sussex super saver

The Eastbourne 5 is a quirky little race on the popular Sussex resort's seafront with an unusual course layout that requires skilful cornering techniques to maintain a good pace. The (mainly) flat as a pancake route has plenty of PB potential if the sea breezes are absent and this year's event was blessed with benign conditions.

The race starts and finishes at Sovereign Water Works, just off Prince William Parade, and runners follow an arrow-straight course on Eastbourne Promenade for 0.83 miles, where they negotiate a switchback pedestrian ramp to turn back to the start, round a cone, and repeat three times – we said it was a little quirky!

This does ensure a traffic-free run and pedestrians are not usually too numerous at the 9:00am start time. We Run They Run I Run promotes this race and the latest event was on Sunday (12 February) with 159 finishing in 1:16:05.

Carving out the pace at the front were Patrick Marsden (Polegate Plodders, 27:14), Ollie Sprague (Seaford Striders RC, 27:45) and the local favourite Stuart Pelling (Eastbourne Rovers AC, 28:26) – with just these three operating at better than 6min/mile pace.

Jackie Stretton (Springfield Striders, 30:51) – in a superb seventh overall – was a swift and dominant winner of the women's race followed by Nicky Bignell (Eastbourne Rovers AC, 36:46) and Vicki Clark (Arena 80 AC, 36:52). The top three men and women are pictured above with their awards sponsored by Tempo Specialist Running Shop of Eastbourne.

Entry options included an eminently sensible "just run" bargain of £10 for the growing number of runners who already have more than enough medals in their collection. Alternatively, take pot luck for £2 more and receive a medal recycled from a previous Eastbourne 5, or go all out for another £3 and get the colourful, brand new 2023 version!

Results and report of the Storm Ciara affected 2022 race at runABC South race listing here.

Photo of winners courtesy We Run They Run I Run on Facebook

Previous & Next News