Mo Farah wins Vitality London 10000

Stars are out in force for Vitality Westminster Mile & London 10000

There is just over a week to go to the much anticipated clash of the titans in the Vitality Westminster Mile and Vitality London 10000. Laura Muir and defending champion Chris O'Hare head the Vitality Westminster Mile entries on Sunday 26 May and less than 24 hours later the Vitality London 10000 features both title holders, Sir Mo Farah and Steph Twell.

Chris O'Hare has made no secret of his desire to become the first man to break four minutes in the seventh edition of this event – the largest of its kind in the world, with more than 8,000 runners last year. O'Hare will face tough opposition from course record holder Nick Goolab (4:01 in 2016) and 800m track stars Elliot Giles and Jamie Webb. The winner will hold the Roger Bannister Trophy on the 65th anniversary of the first ever sub-four-minute mile.

Laura Muir looks to be the hot favourite to lift the Diane Leather Trophy in the women's mile and the UK record of 4:17.06 set by Laura Weightman in New York two years ago could well be in her sights. Defending champion Melissa Courtney and the 2017 winner Adelle Tracey are among those hoping to spring a major surprise.

Apart from the elite races there are specific events for past Olympians, schools, parkrunners and British Age Group Road Mile Championships for under 13 to under 20, plus all masters age groups from 35 years upwards.

The following day a record 17,000 participants are expected to run the Vitality London 10000 on a spectacular course which starts on The Mall and finishes in front of Buckingham Palace.

Sir Mo Farah will be chasing his sixth win in seven appearances and may have to approach his 2010 course record (27:44) to hold off double previous winner Andy Butchart, returning to top form after a fallow year through injury. Nick Goolab is hoping to feature after running the Westminster Mile and he holds the fastest time in UK this year (28:22) while Butchart is fresh from a fast 5000m in the USA (13:18.16).

The women's race will be just as exciting between former winners Steph Twell, Lily Partridge and Gemma Steel. Also seeking the British Athletics 10K title is the current UK track 10,000m champion Charlotte Arter and three of Britain's World Cross Country Championships team: Kate Avery, Jennifer Nesbitt and Jess Piasecki.

Online entries for both events close at 5:00pm on Friday 17 May. Visit the Vitality Westminster Mile or Vitality London 10000 website now for full details.

Image courtesy Vitality London 10,000 press

Previous & Next News