runABC is in the process of upgrading and improving its online service so you might encounter the odd glitch over the next week or so but rest assured we’re working on them and the new site will be a fantastic resource for our running community.



Cleethorpe's New Year's Day 10K

New Year’s Records At Cleethorpes

The Cleethorpe’s New Year’s Day 10K was an ideal way to run off a hangover and possibly bag a PB too and over 500 runners made this their first race of 2018 with three women setting new course records.

For many, this 10K signalled the start of the race season and all the hard work and preparation required to achieve their goals for 2018. The fast, flat course had PB-potential and the weather conditions were ideal – a classic road race for tarmac lovers!

This was certainly the case for Jenny Blizzard, Yvonne Twelvetree and Rosemary Armstrong who beat the existing age category times for this event. Jenny posted a 36:52 (old record 36:57) at W40, Yvonne finished in 46:37 (old record 48:45) for V65 and Rosemary crossed the line in 61:15 (old record 73:02), adding the W75 record to her W70 one.

The men's race was won by James Straw of Lincoln Wellington AC in 31:09 with teammate Shane Robinson taking second place in 31:58. Ryan Page took third place in 32:34 making it a clean sweep for the East Midlands club.

Sophie Cowper of Rotherham Harriers & AC won the women’s race in 35:32, some 20 seconds ahead of new W40 record holder Jenny Blizzard. Rebecca Gallop of Newark AC was third in 37:57.

The last runner finished in 1:24:57.

This was another successful event from Cleethorpes AC who also organise the Croxby Crawl series, Momentum and the Winter 3K/5K Prom series. It was well marshalled with plenty of support along the route and the road closures were particular welcome. The technical T-shirt received a big ‘thumbs up’.

Many runners will return to celebrate the first day of 2019.

Photo courtesy of Steve Green.

Previous & Next News